author

​Bárbara Mujica is a novelist, essayist, short story writer and critic. Her latest novel, 

I Am Venus, revolves around the mystery surrounding The Rokeby Venus, the only

extant female nude by Spanish painter Diego Velázquez. I Am Venus won the

2012 Maryland Writers’ Association Fiction Competition in the category Historical

Fiction. Kirkus Reviews writes: “Mujica’s prose is vigorous and intense, and the story is paradoxically both dark and illuminating.”

Mujica's short stories appear in numerous magazines including 0-Dark-Thirty, 

The Minnesota Review Pangolin Papers, and The Literary Review, as well as in 

anthologies such as Where Angels Glide at Dawn, featuring an introduction by

Isabel Allende. Her essays appear in The New York Times, The Washington Post, 

The Miami Herald, The Dallas Morning Star, Commonweal, The Huffington Post, and hundreds of other publications.  Mujica's essay “Bilingualisms Goal” was named one of the best 50 op-eds of the decade by The New York Times.

Bárbara Mujica is a professor at Georgetown University and a specialist in early

modern Spanish literature. On campus, Mujica initiated the student veteran's

program. U.S. News and World Report recently named the "Number 1 university  

for veterans in the United States."


​Mujica won numerous prizes for her writing, most recently from the Maryland

Writers Association for I Am Venus, and for "Imagining Iraq," in the category

Short Story. She won The Trailblazer's Award for Frida and other writings, the

Pangolin Prize for Best Short Story of the Year, and the E. L. Doctorow

International Fiction Competition. In addition, she won grants and awards from

Poets and Writers of New York, the Spanish Government, Georgetown University,

and other institutions. She is a two-time nominee for the Pushcart Prize for Fiction. Mujica's essays have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post,

The Miami Herald, The Dallas Morning Star, and hundreds of other

publications. Her essay "Bilingualism's Goal" was named one of the best

50 op-eds of the decade by The New York Times. 

Barbara Mujica

Vivid...Frida burns with dramatic urgency.

​      - The New York Times


The exploration of [the characters'] daily lives, with a particular focus on Velázquez’s wife and her

ladies-in-waiting, paints a picture that is deliciously

contradictory to the perfect representation

demanded of Velázquez by the royal court.

Mujica. . . . instantly creates a sensory world for her readers to inhabit. 


I Am Venus, Mujica’s third historical novel (after Sister Teresa and Frida), is a well-plotted read with engaging characters and rich detail. Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Elizabeth Kostova as well as art history buffs will enjoy Mujica’s interpretation.              - Library Journal










Rich, gritty… Echewing sacred sentiment for rich, gritty anecdotes, Sister Teresa, Bárbara  Mujica’s well-researched novel, reimagines famed 16th-century Teresa of Ávila as a vibrand and fully fleshed woman not above vanity, deceit, and a little pre-convent hanky-panky.                      -Entertainment Weekly

RECENT SHORT FICTION

“Imagining Iraq.” 0 Dark Thirty
 “The Call.” 
Serving House Journal
“A Lucky Son of a Bitch.” 
The Blue Lake Review
“Jason’s Cap.” In Maryland Writers’ Association Anthology. Baltimore: Apprentice House, 2015.
“Judgement.” The Report. (forthcoming)
“Ahmed the Tailor.” Saint Ann’s Review. (forthcoming)


Wellesley University
Lecture on Velasquez 

Celebrating the Premier of God's Gypsy, play based on Sister Teresa

Barnes and Noble 
Reading of I Am Venus

Bucknell University
Presentation with Susan Fischer: Shakespeare and the Spanish Comedia 

       advocate

         CONTACT & EVENTS

-Booklist